Vapelog: Day 14

I had my first mishap today.

I screwed an EVOD onto the Sigelei ZMAX, and when I went to unscrew it I grabbed the tank rather than the base. I unscrewed the tank rather than the base, and poured about 1ml of juice into the top of the mod.

This recessed area is deeper than it looks

This recessed area is deeper than it looks

Apparently the top is pretty well sealed, as the juice didn’t seem to penetrate into the mod at all. The problem is the top cap of the mod. It creates a recessed area where anything using eGo type threading can sit (at least the EVOD fit, you can see the brass eGo style threads on the outside of the center column in the pic to the right). If the top cap had a collar where the cone portion is, this wouldn’t be an issue, as you could just remove the collar and expose that area. Not a terribly big problem, but something to be aware of.

Since the Protank and EVOD have interchangeable heads, I wonder if I could use a Protank base on an EVOD body to be able to use the EVOD on this mod? I’ll have to try that and if it works I’ll post some pictures.

This brings up a good question; why would you do this?

Well, I like the Protank. Out of everything that I have seen or used so far (I discovered that one of my coworkers is a vaper today as well!) I like the Protank best. But it’s not perfect. The one thing that I would change if I could is the tip. I would definitely like to see it able to take standard 510 drip tips. With the Protank’s current design, you are stuck with the lobe shaped metal tip. It would be nice to be able to change that.

I personally prefer the shape of the EVOD tip.

That said, this was totally my fault. I just simply wasn’t paying attention to what I was doing.

At least it wasn’t full of Frosty Blue Jazzberry (of which I should be receiving more tomorrow)…

end

Leave a Reply

