Vapelog: Day 16

In high school I took 4 years of electronics rather than wood shop (the aforementioned technolust). Since I graduated in 1995 I have used that knowledge so many times it’s not even funny.

It’s particularly relevant to vaping because I am essentially using Ohm’s law every time I set up my mod. This is especially relevant when it comes to building coils.

Electric theory says that the larger the size of the wire (oddly this is a smaller number, so 8ga wire is actually larger than 10ga wire), the less resistance in that wire (the actual calculation is far more complex, but assuming all other factors are the same the larger diameter wire will have less resistance).

It took me a minute to remember that last night when I was building a coil for my IGO. The first coil was a bust, it was like .5 ohms. which would be fine on a mech mod, but not so much on a regulated mod like the Sigelei ZMAX. From what I can tell the ZMAX only works with coils down to about 1.2 ohms.

Ok, so first coil was a bust. Coil two worked. it came out to 1.3 ohms (yeah I was cutting it close, but what are you gonna do? I guess I really should go buy another Digital Multi Meter if I’m going to be doing this).

Here is a picture of coil #2 mounted on the IGO-L:

First coil

Click to enlarge

Not bad, here is the best I could get it to fire (at 11.0w):

Click to enlarge

Click to enlarge

And here is a picture of the actual coil:

Click to enlarge

Click to enlarge

Sorry for the terrible photos.

Now that said, the coil wasn’t bad. It hit pretty good (gotta remember to get the air hole in the cap of the IGO-L lined up so it is directly on the coil), but tasted kinda burnt at anything over about 10w (I didn’t realize that until I wrapped my second coil).

I’ve noticed a couple things about rebuildable dripping atomizers (RDA’s):

  1. It can be frustrating when you start out, so if you are impatient it may not be for you.
  2. Once you get a coil that works the first time, it’s not all that difficult.
  3. The taste is much more pronounced than with clearos (like the Protank).
  4. Dry hits on an RDA are horrid. Seriously, do not let your wick go dry.
  5. You may want to lower the nicotine in your juice if you are going to be dripping (the 24mg juice I’ve been using got me queasy pretty quickly on the IGO-L).

Now I’m using actual silica wick here, so that black gunk you see isn’t burnt wick, it is burnt up juice gunk that is stuck to the coil and wick. Dry burning (getting the wick completely dry, and then firing the RDA until the wick glows) a few times should turn all that into ash and the wick should be nice and white again. You could also remove the wick and wire from the RDA deck (juice is flammable, and metal conducts heat. Don’t burn your mod or RDA) and hit it with a torch to clean it off too. I’m tossing this coil though so I’m not worried about it.

I tried the Frosty Peach from TVC. I think it is better than the Highbrow Peach Thymbra that I had. It is very peachy, with just a hint of a minty aftertaste (like actual mint, the spice). This is my favorite Peach vape so far (I’ve only tried two, so there is that).

On a side note, it’s pretty crazy how I don’t even really think about cigarettes anymore, I am like totally consumed with how awesome vaping is. I really wish that more people knew about this. I would totally have quit smoking years ago if this had been available.

end

Leave a Reply

