PSA: Please don’t do this.

Every once in a while I’m taken aback at some of the things I see in the vaping world.

Today I was checking the site stats, and as I generally do, I looked at the search terms that are bringing people to my blog. That’s when I noticed this:

WTF_Question

 

So, can you use galvanized wire for coils? Not unless you want to experience Metal Fume Fever.

I don’t know who you are, but I hope you find this before you try it.

Aside from the medical risk, I’m not thinking that it would work too well, since steel conducts quite well. Your battery may get unfortunately hot (as in “go into thermal runaway”, but the wire probably won’t heat up all that well.

If Home Depot or Lowes sold wire that could be used in vaping, we would have heard about it by now. Please stay safe and use only Kanthal or Nichrome type wire for vaping (resistance wire).

end

One thought on “PSA: Please don’t do this.

  1. No, I am not the person that asked if galvanized steel is ok for use in e-cigs. But I almost bought some to make my coil with. Thanks for saving me the hospital bills later on!
    I dig your scientific approach to vaping, btw. Great blog.
    Jared

Leave a Reply

